Gustavus, Saint John's win 2023-24 MIAC All-Sports trophies – MIAC

News & Links
BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – With spring championships in the books and the 2023-24 academic year drawing to a close, the results have been tallied in the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Men’s and Women’s All-Sports Competitions.
Saint John’s University has won the George Durenberger Trophy for men’s sports and Gustavus Adolphus College has won the Pat Wiesner Trophy for women’s sports. The win is the 17th overall for the Johnnies and the eighth overall for the Gusties. Both schools also won their respective trophies in 2021-22 and 2022-23.
2023-24 MIAC All-Sports Standings |
The MIAC All-Sports competition takes a comprehensive look at each institution’s performance within the Conference to award an overall champion for each gender. The men’s competition began in 1963-64, with the women’s competition being added in 1983-84. Starting in the 2003-2004 season, first-place points were ruled to be determined by the number of teams participating in each sport. Second-place, third-place, et cetera, receive points in descending order, based on the first-place point total. Ties in the standings result in the two teams tied sharing the points equally for all tied spots in the standings.
Men’s All-Sport Summary
The Saint John’s men finished with 83 total points in the All-Sports standings with a regular-season conference title in basketball.

Bethel placed second with 77 points, followed by Gustavus in third with 76.5 points, and St. Olaf right behind with 75 points. The rest of the standings finished as follows: Carleton (71), Concordia (50.5), St. Scholastica (46), Macalester (41.5), Augsburg (37.5), Saint Mary’s (30), and Hamline (29).
Women’s All-Sports Summary
The Gustavus women completed the year with 99.5 total points. The Gusties won women’s conference championships in volleyball, basketball, hockey, and swimming & diving.

Finishing in second on the women’s side was Saint Benedict with 89.5 points, while Bethel placed third with 84.5 points. The rest of the standings finished as follows: Carleton (74.5), St. Olaf (72.5), St. Catherine (63), Macalester (59.5), Concordia (52.5), Augsburg (43), Hamline (41.5), St. Scholastica (38), and Saint Mary’s (37).
As the winners of each competition, Saint John’s and Gustavus were awarded the two traveling trophies in honor of their accomplishments. The George Durenberger Trophy is awarded to the men’s champion and was donated by Saint John’s University, and the Pat Wiesner Trophy is awarded to the women’s champ and was donated by Macalester College. The namesake of the George Durenberger Trophy served as the Johnnies’ athletic director for 41 years and represented SJU and the MIAC as a student-athlete, coach, and administrator for nearly five decades. Pat Wiesner was the Scots’ first female athletic director and coached tennis, volleyball, swimming, field hockey, and basketball in her 35 years as an educator at Macalester.

NCAA Championships continue for MIAC spring sports

St. Olaf’s Hannah Robb named finalist for CSC Photographer of the Year

MIAC Athletes of the Week – May 7, 2024

MIAC Athletes of the Week – May 6, 2024

MIAC athletes headed to NCAA spring championships


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *